Biologist of the Year Award

The Native American Fish & Wildlife Society recognize tribal biologists that are working with a Native American tribe and who are in good standing and best exemplify his/her dedication and hard work. Nominations are accepted each year for the Biologist of the Year and these persons are recognized during the NAFWS National Conference.

2021-2022 AWARDEES

2023 – Timothy Gatewood, White Mountain Apache Tribe Game and Fish Department 

2022 – Dr. Caleb Hickman, Supervisory Fish and Wildlife Biologist, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Office of Natural Resources

2021 – Eric Clark, Lead Wildlife Biologist, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

2020-2000 AWARDEES

2018 – Elaine Harvey, Yakama Nation Natural Resources Department

2016 – Brian Saluskin, Yakama Nation Fisheries Department
2012 – Kristin Peet, Big Game Biologist, Penobscot Indian Nation
2011 – Krista Beazley, White Mountain Apache Tribe Wolf Program

2009-2000 AWARDEES

2009 – David Wolf – Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
2008 – Gene Shippentower – Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
2006 – Lawrence Abeita – Southern Pueblos Agency, Isleta Tribal Member
2004 – Diane Mann-Klager – Bureau of Indian Affairs, NEPA, Aberdeen Area
2003 – Larry Schwarzkopf – Fond du Lac Tribe Natural Resources
2002 – Shaun Grassel – Lower Brule Sioux, Department of Wildlife, Fish and Recreation
2001 – David Johnson – Department of Fisheries Resources Management, Nez Perce Tribe
1999 – Patricia Heemsah – Yakama Nation, Spotted Owl Project

Get The Eagle Nest Newsletter

In Recognition of Their Support

The Native American Fish and Wildlife Society would like to thank those organizations that provided us with support over the years. With them we grew an effective national communications network for the exchange of information and management techniques related to self-determined tribal fish and wildlife management.